hills edited

It’s the small things
It’s the subtle things
It’s not the big, aha moments
It’s not just once and then I’m done
No, it’s just the small things
That I notice, that I feel
That quietly whisper into my awareness
Nudging their way in to consciousness
In a blink I can push them aside
Bury them in a torrent of thoughts
Pretend, ignore, deny.
But it is just these very small things
That wake me up
That shake my vision
From the familiar
To the real
It’s the small things
That I must
Dust off the dust
And listen and record
If I’m ever to see
The beauty that surrounds me
And the beauty that’s within me.

© Angela Dunning, 27 March 2015

Leave a Reply

