When I compare and contrast
“She’s got this, she’s made that”
“He’s been there, he’s done that”
I loose myself.
And I loose out.

When I blast my confidence
Into smithereens
Tiny fragments splinter off
Miles from my dreams
Worthless and demeaned
I loose myself.
And I lose out.

When I yearn for what she has
I reduce where I am
Discounting my life
In my mind I am less than
I loose myself.
And I lose out.

Through my rose-tinted eyes
Her assets gleam and sparkle
His talents grow in prize
Making things darker
Until my light fades and dies
I loose myself.
And I lose out.

Waiting for that day when
I can say “Now I have this!”
Wasting each moment I discount
What a life I have, and oh so rich
I loose myself.
And I lose out.

Glimpsing this truth is not easy
Yes it brings a new dawn
With clearer eyes I can see
That is her. It is not me.
I gain myself.
And I stop losing out.

One foothold at a time
I give thanks for my life
My freedom of Soul
Time is all about
My path is just mine
How can it be for someone else?

I welcome myself back
With a smile and a soft heart
I love myself.
And I no longer loose out.

© Angela Dunning, 6 January 2015

Leave a Reply

